Copenhagen Amber Museum is located in one of Copenhagen’s oldest and most charming houses. It is placed at the beautiful square Kongens Nytorv right at the entrance of Nyhavn. Kanneworffs House was build in 1606, even before Kongens Nytorv was founded and the channel of Nyhavn was dug. At that time the population of Copenhagen was only 12,000 people.

Through the years the house has been inhabited by all kinds of people from barbers, tobacco spinners, carpenters, grocers and even the lackey of a noble count. In 1836 wool and cloth grocer Lars Kanneworff bought the house and during the next century it housed one of Copenhagen’s most exclusive and modern tailor establishments.

Today the sign Kanneworffs House on the front has been replaced with Ravhuset (House of Amber), and while enjoying the world of amber, visitors can breathe in the fascinating history of this more than 400 year old house.